Moniteau, Miller & Cole County, Missouri Kidnapping Defense Lawyer
Serving Moniteau, Miller, Cole County & Beyond
Holding or moving another person against their will is an offense known as kidnapping. A noncustodial parent may even be charged with kidnapping if they take their child without the custodial parent’s knowledge or permission. At Loraine Law Center, we recognize the serious nature of kidnapping charges. As a Cole County criminal defense lawyer and former prosecutor, founding attorney Kyle Loraine is committed to delivering aggressive representation to clients who have found themselves facing kidnapping allegations, charges, or investigations.
To find out how we can help you, call (573) 995-4077. We serve clients in Cole County, Miller County, and Moniteau County, Missouri.
"I began my career as an Assistant Prosecutor in one of the busiest courts in Missouri. I have the knowledge, skill and fortitude to effectively defend against criminal charges. I have successfully tried cases ending in conviction and conducted dozens of prelims on everything from possession charges to murder."
"It feels like I’m talking to a friend who happens to be a lawyer too, highly recommend."Amanda B.
"Went above and beyond to help me."DJ P.
"Thank you Mr. Loraine for getting my divorce and custody moving forward"Johnny A.
Kidnapping Defense Attorney in Jefferson City, MO
Even in the face of extreme criminal charges like kidnapping, you have rights. You have the right to a legal defense, and your choice of attorney will directly impact the outcome of your case. Give yourself the best opportunity for a positive result by involving a firm that will go to bat for you, that will stop at nothing to see your freedom and rights protected, and that will be with you every step of the way.
Contact Loraine Law Center today for help with kidnapping charges in Cole County or beyond.
What Are the Penalties for Kidnapping in Missouri?
In Missouri, kidnapping may be charged as a misdemeanor or felony depending on the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime. Intent, the alleged act itself, whether state lines are crossed, and various other factors may affect charges and penalties for kidnapping.
A person may face third-degree kidnapping charges if “he or she knowingly restrains another unlawfully and without consent so as to interfere substantially with his or her liberty.” This is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. If the alleged kidnapper takes the person out of Missouri to another state, this becomes a class E felony, punishable by up to 4 years in prison.
First-degree kidnapping involves holding another hostage, holding them for ransom or reward, committing kidnapping to interfere with a governmental or political function, or kidnapping in the commission of a felony. Kidnapping and causing physical injury or terrorizing the victim is also considered first-degree kidnapping. This is a class A felony, punishable by up to 30 years or life in prison.
We Resolve Issues Quickly and Efficiently
Direct Access to Attorney
We Care Deeply and Provide Focused Representation
Former Prosecutor Who Knows Both Sides of the Law
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (573) 995-4077.